Your Progress

  • 0 Incorrect (8 allowed to pass)
  • 0 Correct
1
2
3
4
5
6
7
8
9
10
11
12
13
14
15
16
17
18
19
20
21
22
23
24
25
26
27
28
29
30
31
32
33
34
35
36
37
38
39
40
 
 
 
 
 
Ask DMV Genie AI
new
Back to Program Home

Free Wyoming DOT Practice Test (WY)

  • Perfect for learner’s permit, driver’s license, and Senior Refresher Test
  • Based on official Wyoming 2024 Driver's manual
  • Updated for June 2024
Verified by Steven Litvintchouk, M.S., Chief Educational Researcher, Member of ACES. See our detailed commitment to accuracy and quality in our practice tests.

About this test

6 min to complete
Available in EN, ES, RU

This Wyoming DOT practice test has just been updated for June 2024 and covers 40 of the most essential road signs and rules questions directly from the official 2024 WY Driver Handbook. You must answer at least 19 questions correctly on a 25 multiple-choice question knowledge test in order to receive a learner’s permit or driver’s license in the state of Wyoming. The basis of all test questions is information contained in the Wyoming Rules of the Road Driver License Manual. It is also necessary to take the Wyoming knowledge test if you haven’t driven in more than two years. If you struggle with reading comprehension or have a disability that affects reading, you may request that your examiner connect you with the phone-based oral testing system, which will allow you to hear the test questions. The test is only available in English, but if you have any difficulties with written English, you will be allowed to use an interpreter. In addition to passing the written test, you may need to pass a vision test and provide medical clearance to get your learner’s permit or license, as determined by your examiner. This DOT practice test will help you to be fully prepared for your Wyoming written test.

[faq]

Wyoming Learner’s Permit Test FAQs in 2024

How can I obtain a Wyoming learner’s permit?

To get a learner’s permit in Wyoming, you must be at least 15 years old. You need to pass a vision screening and a written knowledge test, and provide proof of identity, residency, and a Social Security number. If under 18, parental consent is also required.

What questions are on the permit test?

The Wyoming permit test includes questions on traffic laws, road signs, and safe driving practices, based on the Wyoming Driver’s Manual.

How many questions can you miss on the test?

The Wyoming permit test consists of 25 questions. You can miss up to 5 questions, as you need to answer at least 20 correctly to pass.

Can you get a permit at 14 in Wyoming?

No, in Wyoming, the minimum age to obtain a learner’s permit is 15 years old.

How much does a learner’s permit cost?

The fee for a learner’s permit in Wyoming is $20.

Can I apply for a Wyoming license online?

No, you cannot apply for a Wyoming driver’s license online. You must visit a Driver Services office in person to complete the application process, take the required tests, and have your photo taken.

[/faq]

What to expect on the actual WY DOT exam

25

questions

20

correct answers to pass

80

passing score

15

minimum age to apply

Your trusted source for driver education

Experience the Driving-Tests difference
Since our foundation in 2010, Driving-Tests.org has led the way in online driver's education, with over a decade of experience. Our dedicated experts, bringing together more than 50 years of collective expertise, have established us as the largest non-governmental organization in the U.S. solely focused on driver education. We go beyond the official manuals, offering unique interactive experiences and support like audio guides and an AI Assistant, to cater to different learning styles and needs.
Helping hundreds of thousands to ace their tests, our resources have earned a 4.7-star rating from over 14,500 reviews. Our goal is to make your path to becoming a confident driver as straightforward and effective as possible.

List of questions (classic view)

  1. This emblem on the rear of a vehicle indicates that the vehicle doesn't normally exceed
  2. What are the four steps in the IPDE Method of defensive driving?
  3. Which of the following statements about passing a vehicle is FALSE?
  4. What does this sign mean?
  5. On interstate highways in Wyoming, the legal speed limit is at least
  6. If you are signaled by a flag person at or near a railroad crossing or construction site, you must
  7. If you plan to turn at an intersection, you must signal _________ ahead.
  8. What does this sign indicate?
  9. When a school bus is stopped with its red lights flashing on an undivided roadway, vehicles traveling in either direction must
  10. _________ are areas around trucks or other large vehicles in which other vehicles may disappear into blind spots.
  11. If you park your vehicle facing uphill next to a curb, which way should you point your front wheels?
  12. What type of sign is this?
  13. If you hear the siren or see the flashing lights of a fire truck, police car, or ambulance approaching you from behind, you must
  14. A typical stopping distance for a car traveling at 55 mph is
  15. To prevent drowsiness when you're driving on an interstate road, you should
  16. What does this sign mean?
  17. If you miss your exit on an interstate highway, you should
  18. On a highway with three or more lanes going in one direction, fast-moving vehicles should use
  19. While driving, you should scan at least _________ ahead to predict oncoming dangers and avoid accidents.
  20. What does this sign mean?
  21. You must allow at least a _________ following distance for each 20 feet of your vehicle's length.
  22. If there is another driver tailgating you, you should NOT
  23. When you see a flashing red light at an intersection, you must
  24. What does this sign indicate?
  25. You must dim your headlights
  26. If you are driving on a highway in heavy rain, you must slow down to avoid
  27. To avoid a head-on collision if there is an oncoming vehicle in your lane, you should
  28. What does this sign indicate?
  29. According to Wyoming law, you must use your headlights
  30. If you start to skid,
  31. In Wyoming, which occupants of a vehicle must wear seat belts or suitable child restraints?
  32. What does this sign indicate?
  33. What is the legal blood alcohol concentration (BAC) limit for drivers under 21 years of age?
  34. To exit an interstate highway, you must enter
  35. A barrier of grass, concrete, or other material separating opposing lanes of traffic on a divided roadway is known as
  36. What does this sign indicate?
  37. When driving in fog, you should use
  38. What does a broken line on the pavement indicate?
  39. If your vehicle stalls on a railroad crossing, what should you do?
  40. What does this green arrow signal indicate?